Adventures of a baby troll

I have recently started up a baby troll hunter in Wow.  I never liked mana as a resource for the hunter class in the past.  I leveled a hunter to around level 63 in the past, but just got annoyed at changing aspects all the time.

I am now level 5 which happened quite fast since I have the heirloom chest and shoulders but I do take issue with a few small things.

Now that hunters start with a pet and also use focus instead of mana, I charged through the opening quests like a hot knife through butter, quicker even.  Not only can I not control the pet till I reach level 10 (the pet bar is not visable/usable) but I simply don’t need him.  Most of the mobs that I have encountered die before my pet even reaches them.

I know that Blizzard are trying to make the game more streamlined and easier to pick up for the newer players but I think they are holding new players hands just a little too much.  It is widely known that you can get from level 1 to level 80 in a fairly short time span especially since the inclusion of heirloom items.  If they go through all the old world content on this current easy mode setting and then attempt to do a heroic dungeon once they hit 80, I would imagine it would be quite a shock.  Even though most of the heroics are quite easy now since most of them have been nerfed, it is still a vast difference from solo quest grinding.  Perhaps this is why I struggle to find decent groups with my level 80 shaman.

Another thing that was slightly annoying was how much running I had to do in just the first 5 levels.  The current starting area for Orcs and Trolls is simply huge.  I think I spent more time running back and forth than I did actutally doing anything.  I know that the trolls are getting a new starting area in the Echo Isles in the expansion but I hope that they will be re-making the Orc starting area.

All in all, I am enjoying the new patch.  I only wish the expansion could get here quicker.

-Sighfigh

4 thoughts on “Adventures of a baby troll

  1. theerivs says:

    First of all welcome to the blogosphere. I wish you luck in your endeavors.

    Second of all, I find it easier just to kill alot in the Orc starting area, instead of running back and forth to do quests. Or if you want to do quests use your hearthstone, it gets you back to camp quickly.

    Third of all I think the easiness of WoW now has diluted the players, but then again I think Blizz is making alot of the decent players more lazy.

    • Sighfigh says:

      Thank you, you are officially my first comment!

      I did not finish all of the quests in the starting zone as I ended up just killing to make up the extra experience i needed (2 hit kills means I can mow mobs down pretty easy).

      Its definitely not the same game I started all those years ago.

  2. […] World of Warcraft! The Cataclysm patch has come out and wow is there a lot of changes.  I have been playing it for a few days now and I still don’t know my way around Orgrimmar.  Just out of curiosity I made a new baby troll to check out the new troll area.  This is a very well designed area, nothing too fancy but it has a lot of variety and is damn fun to play.  I am tempted to create a baby orc to check out the orc starting area to see whether Blizzard bothered to fix up some of the issues that I mentioned in my post here. […]

Leave a Reply

